PDA

View Full Version : What to do about Newbies?

rtbain
August 26th, 2002, 09:27 AM
I am a newbie to the TSBA myself so please lend a hand sorting out my thoughts. (Like yall need an invitation to jump my ***).

The TSBA is not intended to be a rider training school. We are a group of semi-like minded riders who get together and share each otherís company and good riding. Everyone is supposed to know how to ride and stay within their personal limits. Even snails like me are tolerated as long as I bring flat repair stuff and water.

This said what do we do about newbies? Of course no one is born knowing everything, not even Louis. ;) How do we bring along someone new to the group without unduly restricting the pace of more experienced riders? Even more basic is should we encourage more riders to join the group? I am not claiming to have the answers but the question is important.

Randyís point of view:
We run a pretty relaxed ship but do have riderís meetings. This meeting should consist of:
1. Where we are going
2. Who is in the group
3. Gear/bike safety issues (bike in good shape, rider with proper gear)
4. Newbie indoctrination

1. Where we are going Ė we donít need no stinking maps but give everyone a general idea of where we are going, where the gas/rest stops will be, estimated time in transit. Make sure one person waits at a turn until the next rider appears. Basic stuff.

2. Who is in the group. I know, Randy is on the soap box again. While DNA testing is not necessary a rider roster would be nice in case someone crashes. I am working on it now. Once you have given me the information Iíll type it in a spreadsheet and all you have to do is check off your name if you are riding that day. Crashing sucks, not knowing who you are working on or how to contact their significant others REALLY SUCKS. Iíll get off my fat *** and move on this one. Please tolerate my requests for information.