PDA

View Full Version : Howdy folks- an introduction

Keith Shaw
November 9th, 2001, 01:49 PM
Howdy-

My name's Keith, and I actually stumbled upon this group after filling up at the Bulverde Diamond Shamrock a few sunday's ago. I talked with James for a bit before riding off, and have been wanting to go riding with y'all and meet some more members ever since.

Maybe a little background on me will help out. I'm an automotive research engineer out at Southwest Research Institute over on the NW side, though I live very close to the Bulverde station where a lot of the rides start. I graduated last year from UT-Austin with a chemical engineering degree, and have messing around with Mustangs and cars in general for quite some time.

I'm pretty new to bikes though, having bought my ZX-6R just over a month ago. I've been seriously addicted ever since, and have been having a blast just riding around, getting familiar with the bike. Still very much a novice rider, and I'm trying hard to keep my dumb *** from getting into stupid situations with it ;)

I'm going to try to make this weekend's SMR as long as James doesn't change the meeting place once he sees I'm coming smile.gif Lookin forward to meeting everyone.

Inlaw1
November 9th, 2001, 02:11 PM
Hey Keith! Glad to have you on board. I was also at the DS the other Sun. when you gassed up. I remember asking James "who was that squid?" <J/K> smile.gif

<BLOCKQUOTE>quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Keith Shaw:
trying hard to keep my dumb *** from getting into stupid situations with it ;)<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>Then stay away from Brad! smile.gif And for that matter....me to!! :D

Actually we have several folks in our group that over time have developed a sense for when someone is over their heads / limits. Or are exhibiting some trait that may need working on as far as handling. In other words, we've worked with new riders quite a bit before so we may have some advice to help you if your open for it.