View Poll Results: Which smartphone would you buy?

Voters
11. You may not vote on this poll
  • iPhone 5

3 27.27%
  • Galaxy S III

7 63.64%
  • Other phones (HTC, Windows phone, other Samsung models etc.)

0 0%
  • You guys are being misled, Crackberry rules!

1 9.09%
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Galaxy S III or iPhone 5?

Default Galaxy S III or iPhone 5?

I've been using an iPhone for about 4 years now. Started with the 3G and now have the 4. Overall I've really liked the phones and they pretty much do what I need. Battery life hasn't been great though. By the end of the day, it's usually down close to (if not below) 20% battery life left. The new iPhone 5 looks appealing but the Samsung Galaxy S III looks sweet as well. I have a few apps I've bought over time but not excessive. One initial selling point about the Galaxy was the ease of rooting it and being able to use it as a tether or mobile hot spot. I sync with Outlook for my contacts & calendar which the iPhone does fairly well (although MobileMe was flawless imho when it first came out, the iCloud has some issues especially dealing with contacts ). Since it looks like I'll change my unlimited data plan to a 4 gig family plan (adding my folks onto my plan), it comes with tethering & mobile hot spot services. I've been leery of dropping the grandfathered unlimited in the past but I've only used over 1 gig a few times so realistically it's not a big issue.

I'll probably stick with Apple and the new iPhone 5 but would like to hear what you guys think. After this, we'll discuss which tires, oil, & chain lube you prefer.
    People told me I was going to get old, I didn't believe them

Carl
    San Antonio Chapter

One advantage for the Galaxy is the battery is replaceable. Buying a spare battery is about $30. Mophie makes a cool battery pack/protector case for the iPhone but it's close to or above $100 depending upon model.

Carl
    San Antonio Chapter